BLOGGIES.

I’m back. Phew, it feels good. I’ve slowly been lurking back in the community, reading your posts and commenting occasionally (311 unread blog posts on Bloglovin’ = overwhelming). But finally the blogging bug caught me again and I’m so excited to continue posting. I also need to keep face-lifting the page. It’s still a tad bland for my taste. Gotta give it some personality, hey!

post-haircut! Finally got those pesky split ends cut off. The lady screwed up my eyebrows though and now I have a chunk missing from my left one :(. Not cool.

So yesterday was my first free day. I’m done nannying for the summer since I’m making the move back to Madison next Wednesday. This summer has just flown by and I’m a little sad to leave home but I’m so excited to get back into the groove of things at school. See everyone again, begin apartment life (ah!), get back to work at the Union and maybe spend a little time on school work ;). I’m a little bit overwhelmed at the prospect of moving allllll my stuff down in one trip and getting everything organized in the apartment, but I just keep telling myself that it doesn’t all have to happen *snap* like that. Organizing will be a gradual thing. I just have to be patient, which is easier said than done. I’m pretty much one of the most impatient people ever. Add that to the list of personality traits that need work! (yes, I have a list.)

ANYWAYS, getting back to Thursday, I woke up with the itch to bake.

yes, these are baked.

This itch usually does not strike me. I’m much more of a stovetop, cooking, pinch of this, stir a bit, add some more flavor here and there kind of girl. Baking just doesn’t really turn me on, if you know what I mean. I’ve never been confident enough to be creative because usually my attempts at healthifying baked goods usually result in unappealing lumps. I’m so amazed and have SO much respect for all of you that are successful healthy bakers. It’s just not my niche and I’m 100% okay with that. Yay, cooking! :-p

After perusing many blogs’ recipe pages, I came across Tina’s Flourless Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies and was instantly intrigued. They looked SO yummy, and I thought I’d be sneaky and adjust the ingredients to be just a bittttt less indulgent. Instead of 1/4 cup of sugar, I used an 1/8 cup and a packet of truvia (stevia) sweetner. Instead of an egg, I used 2 egg whites. I added an 1/8 teaspoon of xanthan gum to the mix (I may or may not have been overly excited to use it having just purchased my first package at the grocery store…)

Baked ’em at 350 for 15 minutes. Result? They came out the same way they went in! Didn’t flatten at all. I laughed. At them and at myself. I let them cool for about a half an hour before trying one. It was crumbly. But tasty! The peanut butter taste is perfect and they are hardly too sweet. I crumbled one over my dessert of froyo, frozen berries and cacao nibs last night and it was absolutely NOM. I am definitely not done with this recipe — gotta figure out what will make ’em flatten and not be so darn crumbly.

Learning from our mistakes, right?

SO, on to the next topic. Something I’ve been loving lately for creativity and convenience’s sake: wraps! After going gluten free I very soon realized that I’d need to find a good substitute for sandwich bread. I know there are some good sandwich breads out there that are gluten-free, but I’ve yet to get my hands on any of them. The bread I have in my house right now, Food For Life’s Millet Bread, is much too dense for me to be a good sandwich bread. What I have found, however, are some wonderful gluten free wraps, made with whole grains from quinoa, brown rice and teff.

One of the main reasons I loveee to make wraps for myself is that I can be creative with whatever I stuff inside! There are so many flavor possibilities and food options to create a great, healthy wrap. And it’s much easier to stuff a wrap with a bunch of nutrition than it is two slices of bread. Some of my recent creations?

Apple-Raisin Wrap
– Tortilla
– Handful of spinach
– Half of a pink lady apple, diced into large cubes
– About a tbsp or two of raisins
– Drizzle of poppyseed vinaigrette dressing
– Turkey, chicken or chickpeas (optional; didn’t add them but would bump up the protein)

Rolled up nice and tightly and munched down like a burrito πŸ™‚

ignore the chipped plate...

Southwestern Peach Wrap
– Tortilla
– Half of an avocado, mashed, and spread in middle of tortilla
– Handful of spinach
– 1/4 peach, sliced thinly
– Red onion to taste, sliced thinly (I like a lot)
– About 2 tbsp Salsa
– Black beans (optional; I didn’t add them but they would add a bit of protein)

Other ideas…

Spinach + Stir-fried veggies (pepper, broccoli, carrot, corn, zucchini, etc) and egg white
Romaine + Tomato + Red Onion and Caesar Dressing
Peanut Butter + Fresh Berries or Banana
Spring Greens + Pear + Swiss Cheese + Balsamic Vinegar
Spinach + Tuna + Red Onion + Celery + Tomato + Hummus or Vinaigrette dressing
Kale + baked sweet potato or pumpkin + honey or maple syrup + pumpkin seeds
Roasted Vegetables + Onion + Hummus
Spinach + Crumbled Veggie Burger + Mustard + Tomato + Pickle
Spring Greens + Salmon + Cucumber + Laughing Cow Light Garlic & Herb Cheese Wedge

The possibilities really are endless, and they provide a great option for any meal.

In other news, I just became a registered student member of the ADA (American Dietetics Association) and supplement member of the Behavioral Health Nutrition group! The BHN provides resources for Nutrition in the treatment of Eating Disorders, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Addictions, and Psychiatric Disorders. *squee* I was so excited when I found this website because that is EXACTLY what I want to do. Booyah.

Ultimately, since I want to become a Registered Dietitian, and the competition for the required internships is getting super intense, I thought becoming a member sooner rather than later would be a good thing to do. It provides lots of opportunities to network and gain experience as well as learn about news and advances in the field. Exciting!

I could go on and on about Dietetics, my hopes and dreams and all that jazz but that’s a whole other post so I’ll just leave it at that.

Well, the rest of today for me shall be spent organizing my very unorganized room and starting to get things packed for my move back to campus. Fun fun fun. Hope you guys have an awesome Fridayyy!

Baking Fails Anonymous: What was your craziest/funniest baking fail?Β 

What makes up your favorite wrap? Fruity or Savory? Lotsa veg or lotsa protein?

Would you be interested in a category of posts dedicated to my adventures in becoming an RD?

