Tags

, , , , , , ,

As far as breakfast goes, I’m much more of a sweet, carby girl than a savory girl. Toast, bananas, fruit, cereal, granola, yogurt… yummy! Every now and then I crave an egg or an omelette or some type of quiche, but the majority of mornings I wake up craving carbs and fruit.

Since I’ve gone gluten free, PB and Banana toast has kind of gone M.I.A from my morning breakfast until I can find a good toast replacement. I’ve been making this breakfast for a while now and I’ve fallen in love with it. Made with GF cereal, it doesn’t upset my tummy, but it could really be made with ANY cereal you want, gluten free or not. The addition of protein powder keeps me satisfied for hours and the bananas and other fruit additions make my early-morning sweet tooth happy. The best part of this cereal bowl? PEANUT BUTTER. I never would have imagined adding peanut butter to my cereal but the salty-sweet combo makes it ridiculously good.

This bowl was inspired by Gabriela’s protein cereal bowl, but since I found her recipe I’ve made it my own. I’m ready to share it with you guys, since it’s practically all I’ve been eating for breakfast lately!

Vanilla Peanut Butter Protein Cereal Bowl

ingredients:

  • 1 cup Mesa Sunrise cereal (my favorite gluten free option; feel free to use your favorite!)
  • 1 heaping teaspoon natural peanut butter (the drippier it is, the easier it is to stir in)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla soy protein powder (I use a generic brand)
  • 1 Tbsp ground flax
  • 1 sliced banana
  • almond milk
The variations of this cereal bowl are endless. Add whatever fruit you like (I love adding fresh berries, peaches, cherries etc.), different flavors of protein powder, and different nut butters.
This breakfast is great because it’s super easy to bring together and keeps me satisfied for a longgggg time. Perfect for my morning nannying shifts so I’m not tempted to eat the junk the kids do 😉
